Skip to content

Harper loses batting title but sets himself up for MVP

Oct 4, 2015, 7:49 PM EST

USA Today Sports Images

NEW YORK — Bryce Harper’s run at the National League batting title came up short Sunday afternoon. A final-week slump, though, didn’t ruin Harper’s run at a complete season that ranks among the best in baseball history.

Needing to keep pace with the Marlins’ Dee Gordon, who enjoyed a 3-for-4 afternoon in his finale to raise his season-ending batting average to .333, Harper couldn’t hold serve. He went 1-for-4 in the Nationals’ 1-0 loss to the Mets, finishing at .330.

The season’s final two weeks weren’t kind to Harper. At the end of play September 20, he owned a .343 batting average, .470 on-base percentage and 1.143 OPS. But over his final 11 games, he hit just .162 (6-for-37), slowly seeing his lead over Gordon slip away.

“I probably could have taken the last two weeks off and hit .340 and do what I did,” Harper said. “But Dee Gordon is such a great hitter. He had over 200 hits, and I tip my cap to him. He’s done such a great job all year. I had to be in there today. I wanted to be in there for my team. I wanted to play my last day with [shortstop Ian Desmond, in his likely final game with the Nationals], if that was the way it was going to be. These fans and this organization expect me to go out and play.”

The day began with Harper (.3308) and Gordon (.3306) nearly deadlocked, but Gordon immediately took the lead with a leadoff double against Philadelphia’s David Buchanan, followed by a home run in his next at-bat. Harper, meanwhile, went 0-for-2 against Mets ace Jacob deGrom, then grounded out against lefty Jon Niese in the seventh, leaving his average at .3288.

Harper got one final chance to bat, with two outs in the ninth and the Nationals trailing by a run and facing New York closer Jeurys Familia. The 22-year-old managed to lace a ball down the third-base line for a clean hit, then took off around first and narrowly slid safely into second with a hustle double that required confirmation from MLB’s replay officials.

Harper’s effort during what could have been the Nationals’ final at-bat of the season wasn’t lost on manager Matt Williams.

“Just tells you how he can lead a club, and the way he plays can do that,” Williams said. “He doesn’t give up.”

Harper knew the batting title was no longer in reach at that point, but he still felt like something was at stake.

“I didn’t want to make the last out in Citi Field,” he said. “Definitely just trying to grind it out. If I was .328 or .325 in my last AB, I was gonna still do it. I want to stay in there. I think the baseball gods got me that knock down the third-base line and got up to .330. So, .330, 42 and 99 is pretty good.”

Harper’s final base offensive stat line — a .330 batting average, 42 homers, 99 RBI — was more than just pretty good. It was historic, especially when you swap out the RBI total in exchange for his league-leading .460 on-base percentage.

Only nine players in baseball history have hit .330 with 42 homers and .460 on-base percentage over a full season: Babe Ruth, Lou Gehrig, Jimmy Foxx, Ted Williams, Mickey Mantle, Todd Helton, Jason Giambi, Barry Bonds and Bryce Harper. All but Harper were at least 24 years old when they did it.

“It was awesome,” left fielder Jayson Werth said of Harper’s season. “I’m really proud of him. He had a great season. MVP-caliber season.”

Though all MVP votes had to be submitted by the end of play Sunday, Harper and the Nationals will have to wait another six weeks or so to find out if he won the sport’s ultimate individual award.

“Hopefully the big prize is awaiting him,” Williams said.

Harper will head home to Las Vegas disappointed his historic year ended without a postseason appearance. But he’ll also head home believing he did everything he could to give his team a chance.

“I went out there and grinded out every single day for my team and my fans,” he said. “That’s what I wanted to do. The Nationals gave me an opportunity to play this game and give it my all every single day. I’m very lucky to be part of a great team and do everything I could every single day. I played 150 games. That was my goal all year long. I’m happy with what I produced and what I did.”

  1. natsfan1a - Oct 4, 2015 at 7:57 PM

    That was one [heckuva] year, kid. Well done.

  2. Susan Gurny - Oct 4, 2015 at 8:05 PM

    We love and appreciate u, Bryce! I was. Mickey Mantle fan, too! I bet he would have loved to watch u play!

  3. Guapo - Oct 4, 2015 at 8:09 PM

    Now he’s got motivation for next year. MVP and a batting title. Oh…and a playoff run. Kid must be exhausted from carrying this team on his back fro 162. Hopefully he gets some help next season.

  4. Eugene in Oregon - Oct 4, 2015 at 8:10 PM

    Off topic, but this reports on a nice gesture in Miami…

    http://www.nytimes.com/2015/10/05/sports/baseball/ichiro-suzuki-pitches-for-the-marlins.html

    • patrickthand - Oct 4, 2015 at 8:20 PM

      It’s too bad he struggled in the last two months. I don’t see him getting a contract next year. No 3,000 hits. But a first ballot Hall of Famer.

    • janebeard - Oct 4, 2015 at 8:48 PM

      TOTALLY BLAME PAP for the last week for Harper. Dee didn’t get attacked in the dugout. #DFAPap

      • Section 222 - Oct 4, 2015 at 10:11 PM

        Nah, he was slumping well before Pap attacked him. And he crushed that game winning homer on Saturday. Just a rough patch at the wrong time. But that doesn’t take away from an incredible season. We were honored to witness it.

      • natsguy - Oct 5, 2015 at 12:24 AM

        I totally agree with you. The Nats ownership need to take notice. Rizzo has a lot to answer for. The Papelbon incident makes Rizzo look very bad. If I was Bryce I would be livid.

  5. patrickthand - Oct 4, 2015 at 8:22 PM

    He did win the NL HR title (with Arenado).

    • janebeard - Oct 4, 2015 at 8:49 PM

      +1

  6. ArVAFan - Oct 4, 2015 at 8:29 PM

    And now for something completely different: my year-end haiku:

    To Two Globes:*

    Their season is done.
    Capsulate the year: bitter,
    But hold Spring’s promise.

    *Joe Ross’ final strikeout ball from his first Nats Park win, and my heirloom seed cucumber for 2016 (which is actually larger than the baseball).

    PS Candide, if you want to, post the photo–I couldn’t get it to work.

  7. Candide - Oct 4, 2015 at 9:08 PM

    Thanks for this, ArVAFan!

  8. Scooter - Oct 4, 2015 at 9:10 PM

    Man, that kid is awesome.

    • Scooter - Oct 4, 2015 at 9:12 PM

      I meant Harper, but the cucumber kid is impressive too.

  9. carlospaula - Oct 4, 2015 at 9:49 PM

    Going all out for the double in his last ab was impressive….it was the play to make w/2 outs

  10. Section 222 - Oct 4, 2015 at 10:12 PM

    Pretty ironic that Harper’s last hit this year was a hustle double. Take that Pap!

    • natsfan1a - Oct 5, 2015 at 7:45 AM

      +34 and -58

  11. natsfan1a - Oct 5, 2015 at 7:56 AM

    Late posting this and it may have been posted before but some interesting observations here, particularly from Fredi Gonzalez, imo:

    http://espn.go.com/mlb/story/_/id/13773700/how-washington-nationals-teammates-rest-mlb-see-bryce-harper-monster-year

    • Section 222 - Oct 5, 2015 at 9:50 AM

      Thanks for posting this. I hadn’t seen it and it gives me chills. We are so lucky to be able to watch him.

    • NatsNut - Oct 5, 2015 at 11:47 AM

      Wow! Great article. Thanks for posting, 1a!

  12. JamesFan - Oct 5, 2015 at 10:55 AM

    How many hits did Harp get in how many games after the “strangulation? Did he have any other period like that this season?

  13. mrnat7 - Oct 5, 2015 at 12:20 PM

    Bryce may have lost the batting title but he won the most important title for a hitter. He won the on base percentage title in all baseball for 2015. Getting on base is the most over looked stat in baseball. Dee Gordon wasn’t ever second! Great year Bryce!

Archives

FINAL NL EAST STANDINGS

WLGB
NEW YORK9072
WASHINGTON83797.0
MIAMI719119.0
ATLANTA679523.0
PHILADELPHIA639927.0

ON THE RADIO

As ESPN-980 AM's Nats Insider, Mark makes daily appearances on the station's various shows. Here's the 2015 schedule (subject to change)...

MON: 12:45 p.m.
TUE: 2:30 p.m.
WED: 4:30 p.m.
THU: 2:30 p.m.
FRI: 5:30 p.m.
SAT: 10:30 a.m.

*All times Eastern. You can also listen to the station on 94.3 FM, 92.7 FM and online at ESPN980.com. Click here for past audio clips.

Follow us on Twitter