Skip to content

Ramos comes through with go-ahead hit

Aug 5, 2015, 12:13 AM EDT

USA Today

Since the Nationals traded for Wilson Ramos back in 2010, he has shown flashes of All-Star capabilities as a catcher who can at times look like one of the best hitters in the league at his position. Injuries have always been his problem, at least until this year.

Ramos has been in the lineup more often to this point of the season than in any since 2011. But for whatever reason, his offensive numbers just haven’t lived up to what many thought he would produce if given the fortune of good health.

That was not the case on Tuesday night, as Ramos drove in two runs in the bottom of the eighth to push the Nationals to a 5-4 victory over Arizona and snap a four-game losing streak along the way. He poked a single to right field off Diamondbacks reliever David Hernandez that was just enough to bring Ryan Zimmerman home from third and Jayson Werth in from second.

“That was big because I helped the team to win this game. It was an important game for the team,” Ramos said. “I just want to say thanks God and thanks to my family for their support. Like they say, after bad things good things come. That’s very important.”

Ramos reached base two other times on the night. He walked in the first inning off Patrick Corbin and singled in the third off Josh Collmenter. The 27-year-old catcher had not been on base three times in a game since July 5, and has done so just five times in 81 outings this season.

Ramos has been watching film of his swing in the 2011 season to help get back to basics and fix his approach.

“I was watching my swings from the 2011 season and that helped me. That helped me a little bit in my standing position. I did it today and felt more comfortable at the plate. I will stay like that for the rest of the season because I feel comfortable now,” he said.

Ramos reached second base on his go-ahead hit thanks to a throw home by Ender Inciarte. Once on the bag Ramos clapped his hands and pointed to the dugout to celebrate. He explained why afterwards:

“Because every time I try to do my best, I try to help my team, and in this opportunity I did. It make me feel excited. In this moment, I have to enjoy it because this moment is not happening often. I have to enjoy it. I was trying to give more energy to my team. Everything I try to do is for my team, try to help my team win games.”

Now he just hopes it will carry over to the next day, as the Nationals can use help on offense from anywhere they can get it right now.

“It made me so excited because I want to get my confidence back,” Ramos said. “Now I will go back to sleep and try to have a good dream. That’s good.”

  1. stoatva - Aug 5, 2015 at 12:29 AM

    Sweet dreams, Willie. I’ll do the same.

    Nice night at the ballpark, after all.

  2. Sec 3, My Sofa - Aug 5, 2015 at 3:59 AM

    To dream of buffalo …

    Typically, a buffalo dream is a sign of abundance and future wealth to come. If you have been struggling to find the right path in your life, this dream can indicate that you are headed in the right direction in your life.

    • 3on2out - Aug 5, 2015 at 6:34 AM

      +40
      Great research Sec. 3!

    • natsfan1a - Aug 5, 2015 at 6:51 AM

      I like.

      Went to bed after the 5th, but did set the DVR, so I can watch the rest later.

    • Ghost of Steve M. - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:22 AM

      I like.

    • zmunchkin - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:31 AM

      Great quote. An obviously fits quite well with Ramos’ comments.

    • Sec 3, My Sofa - Aug 5, 2015 at 2:11 PM

      Thanks. A great deal of selectivity went into coming back with that.
      😉

  3. rayvil01 - Aug 5, 2015 at 7:33 AM

    One win and all the pitchfork and torch-toting folk are quiet. No doubt it’s a temporary lull.

    This is an excellent, balanced piece about MW. Great read: http://www.scout.com/mlb/nationals/story/1570006

    • masterfishkeeper - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:22 AM

      It is a great read. Thanks for sharing it.

    • adcwonk - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:32 AM

      One win and all the pitchfork and torch-toting folk are quiet.

      That is, indeed, an exceedingly good benefit to a win.

    • Joe Seamhead - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:33 AM

      Everybody’s got their own opinion on Matt Williams. All I will say is that I am wearing my Davey Johnson jersey tonight, which sort of sums up how I am feeling right now.

      • Mrsb loves the Nats - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:36 AM

        +1 Joe… Big +1

        Although, I will not be wearing my DJ jersey but my Bryce Harper shirt…

    • unkyd59 - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:42 AM

      Yes…good read, and timely, as o have found myself souring on some aspects of Matty’s performance. It’s good to hear a different perspective, and to remember that we, outside the clubhouse, prolly don’t have enough solid info to judge every aspect… Thanks for posting!

    • Ghost of Steve M. - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:55 AM

      rayvil, good stuff

  4. JayB - Aug 5, 2015 at 7:35 AM

    I do feel like the silver lining in this massive underachievement for this team is they will not be so overconfident if they do back into the playoffs…..I hope….it would be fun to see a hungry team and a manager who is not going to pitch rookies and journey men in key spots of do are die playoff games……MW learned something right – even though he will not admit it right?

  5. laddieblahblah - Aug 5, 2015 at 7:40 AM

    Build on it. The key bats in the middle of the order came through – Zim (again, his line drives are now falling in), Werth and Ramos. Escobar, Ant and Harp just keep getting on base. If the middle of the order can just deliver the RBIs, the Nats are going to win a lot of games.

    • Ghost of Steve M. - Aug 5, 2015 at 9:55 AM

      Unfortunately Desi is pulling off pitches once again and he needs to stop swinging at Pitch #1 for a while. Pitchers are no longer throwing him the “get me over” strike and he’s swinging at balls out of the zone and falling behind 0-1.

      Tonight might be a good time to give Desi a “rest day”.

      • virginiascopist - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:26 AM

        Desi does need a rest (and maybe Ryan too), but tomorrow might be better — both of them have put up very good numbers against Arizona’s starter tonight, Rubby de la Rosa.

      • Ghost of Steve M. - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:29 AM

        Wondering if Ramos gets a rest with Gio on the mound.

        RZim also hitting well but due a rest and JDub probably gets Thursday off.

  6. Mrsb loves the Nats - Aug 5, 2015 at 7:46 AM

    Had a great time at the park last night…. even more enjoyable when the Nats win.

    Going again tonight.

    Was glad to see the get active yesterday. Build On IT.

    Btw – drew was absolute filth yesterday. I mean just nasty. Nice having 2 closers on the team since saves can come in other innings besides the 9th (as was the case last night).

    • Ghost of Steve M. - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:29 AM

      +1 to everything . I didn’t quite understand the weather delay since it never rained more than a few drops

      Filth be Storen.

      • zmunchkin - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:35 AM

        Agreed.

        When I got to the park I was surprised about the delay. I checked the radar and there were a lot of small storms heading there – but it looked like they might pass slightly to the north. Then all clear. I assume the Nats did not want to risk starting the game and immediately having a rain delay.

        And I’m going tonight as well.

      • Mrsb loves the Nats - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:36 AM

        I got to the park at 7 on the dot. I was all running and nervous and then they said ‘Rain Delay’… I was like where? lol… Then just went to Jammin Island and got something to eat then got settled into my seat (sec 115) about 5 minutes before 1st pitch.

      • Ghost of Steve M. - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:40 AM

        It wasn’t packed last night. I think the weather reports kept people away.

      • Mrsb loves the Nats - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:37 AM

        Me too Zmunchkin. What section? I think Imma get there around 5:15 to get my chia pet! I need to figure which entrance I want to go in to make sure I get one.

      • Ghost of Steve M. - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:41 AM

        20,000 Chia Pets. I think the lines will be nuts.

      • zmunchkin - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:55 AM

        Jayson is my (adult) daughter’s favorite player. She was bummed when she saw she’d be out of town for this game. So I promised her I’d get there early enough to get one for her. So I plan to get there when they open the gates. I think that’s 4:30.

        My seats are in 312.

      • therealjohnc - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:59 AM

        From the radar, there were lines of storms north and south of the park (I have friends in Gaithersburg and Springfield; both were drenched last night). When I checked radar at 6:30 there was a rain shower in between the two lines that was heading towards DC and the ballpark, but it pretty much fell apart around Dulles.

        So I wouldn’t be surprised if what happened is that the team saw the rain heading for the park, made the delay call to let it pass, and then as soon as they did that the cloud dissolved. It happens. It did make for a fairly late night at the park, though.

      • Ghost of Steve M. - Aug 5, 2015 at 11:00 AM

        No harm, no foul since Nats won.

  7. Pete "Hit 'n Run" Wood - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:06 AM

    Da Buff came thru! And equally as important was Werth’s astute base-running; his accurate read of the D’backs OF in the 8th allowed him to score from 2B on willy’s single to RF.

    • adcwonk - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:34 AM

      I think, however, it might have been close if the RF had made an accurate throw — he’s got an incredibly strong arm.

      • stoatva - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:43 AM

        On the other hand, it was also Inciarte Harper ran on in the first, stretching a sure single into a “no way” double. Apparently the Nats feel he’s inaccurate, at the least.

        Used the last of my rewards points for seats in 210 and enjoyed the heck out of the game. But oh boy I don’t even want to think about what it would have felt like to lose that one.

      • adcwonk - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:47 AM

        But oh boy I don’t even want to think about what it would have felt like to lose that one.

        Funny you mention that. I was watching with my son, and when Esco made that error in the 9th, he said that that must be a real bummer for the fans there.

        I replied that, on the contrary, a closer nail-biter would make the win that much more satisfying. Or at least more exciting from a positive angle!

        Whew!!

  8. Theophilus T.S. - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:43 AM

    Bless Ramos for a clutch base hit.

    It continues to amaze me the number of players who have a “breakout” game and say, “I went back and watched film of my swing in” 2011, 2013, 2009, 1999, etc., “and found out what I was doing wrong.” If it’s that simple why didn’t they look at the film weeks earlier in the middle of a two-month slump? What in hell are the coaches doing? Are players elitely stubborn, or just plain dumb? A player who doesn’t know what works for him, or can’t quickly figure it out, is not a sound long-term investment. I’m not going to be impressed unless Ramos hits respectably the rest of the way out. The Nats need to build their future on players who can be consistent and not slip in and out of their “groove” like a worn out phonograph needle.

    • jfmii - Aug 5, 2015 at 9:00 AM

      You make it sound so easy. Like there is a magic potion for being “consistent”, and why are all these players so stupid that they don’t just drink it?

      • stoatva - Aug 5, 2015 at 9:11 AM

        They neglect to mention the countless times they go back and look at the film and make adjustments…. and things get worse!

  9. Danny - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:44 AM

    NG not around to celebrate a win of course.

  10. ehay2k - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:44 AM

    Did read the game thread in part because I was one of many NI’ers at the park. (Will be there again tonite in 129)

    On the throw from Desi home, why was Escobar acting as a cutoff? I think that his presence, between the mound and the 3b line, cause Desi to look for a split second and perhaps throw offline because he had another target to consider. Anyone else think that? In any case, the 3b has no business being there standing with his glove up.

    I want to see Esco at 2b, Rendon at 3b, and Espinosa, who has certainly earned a starting role, at SS. Desi can get a well deserved break for 3 or 4 games and work on a plan at the plate other than “swing hard”. (I am still mad that the he swung – hard, of course – at a 3-1 pitch with the bases loaded the other night.)

    Take the series tonight!

    • Ghost of Steve M. - Aug 5, 2015 at 9:57 AM

      On the radio they were discussing that relay throw to home and you’re right looking at the replay that Esco did appear to be in the way and Desi jerked the throw. That would have been interesting to see if he made a perfect throw.

      • masterfishkeeper - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:04 AM

        When I saw the runner rounding third, I was sure he was going to be out. I was shocked when the throw was so far off line. Interesting to hear ehay2k’s explanation.

    • Sec 3, My Sofa - Aug 5, 2015 at 2:34 PM

      As Satchel Paige once said, in another context, “Home plate don’t move.”

  11. stoatva - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:49 AM

    Mrsb, I’d suggest using the home plate gate, on the riverfront side. They seem to have giveaways left after all the other gates have distributed theirs.

    Sold my seats on StubHub, but I’ll be back Friday and Sunday.

    • Mrsb loves the Nats - Aug 5, 2015 at 9:26 AM

      Thanks for the tip. Think Imma use this one. Or even the entrance on S Capitol St.

      For the life of me, im trying to remember which gate is right off the metro?

      • Ghost of Steve M. - Aug 5, 2015 at 9:59 AM

        Only problem I think is those gates open 1 1/2 hours before game time instead of 2 hours before game time in CF if I’m reading the rules properly.

      • Mrsb loves the Nats - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:07 AM

        I think on giveaway days, they all open 2.5 hours early. Idk, I know that 20k fans will not arrive by 5:30, at least I hope! 🙂

  12. adcwonk - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:50 AM

    Did read the game thread in part because I was one of many NI’ers at the park. (Will be there again tonite in 129)

    Can somebody do me a favor please? Can somebody put in the NIDO spreadsheet that we’ll be there (in Sec 308)? (I can’t access it from work (grrr). I don’t have the link off-hand, either).

    Very exciting that, after losing the first game, we’re going to the game where they are shooting for taking the series!

    GYFNG!

    • natsnatsnatswoo - Aug 5, 2015 at 9:15 AM

      It’s a four game series. They need to win both tonight and tomorrow to take it.

      • adcwonk - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:20 AM

        Yep — forgot it was a 4-gamer . . .

  13. stoatva - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:54 AM

    After Escobar’s error in the ninth (I’m not sure he’s airmailed one all year, has he?) with the tying run on second, all I could think about was a 14 hop seeing eye dribbler going through the infield to tie it. Papelbon sucked it up and took care of bidness, though.

    • Ghost of Steve M. - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:01 AM

      Papelbon didn’t seem fazed at all. That was an impressive save.

  14. Muddy Ruel - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:54 AM

    Desmond is a mystery to me. He looked horrible last night. I was at the game. Not only the 3 Ks and a dribbler to 1st in the 8th after barely staying alive with foul tips — with Zim on 3rd and Werth on 2nd and no outs — but his relay throw home in the 4th was way off line and feeble. If it had been on line the runner (IMO) was going to be out and Scherzer would’ve been the winner. Game won, so that’s great, but what’s happened to Desi …. and why isn’t Espi getting some time at SS under the circumstances? Okay, Desi is a team leader but he needs to sit for awhile and let his head reboot. Mystery.

    • saintpaddy - Aug 5, 2015 at 9:14 AM

      Watched the game last night. After Desmond stuck out you could hear the fans booing Desmond. FP even mentioned it as he Desmond went into the dugout. “The fans are letting him hear it” Frustrations boiling over.

      • stoatva - Aug 5, 2015 at 9:17 AM

        I heard a significant minority booing after the 8th inning dribbler failed to score Zim. Wasn’t entirely sure it was all directed at Desi.
        /shrugs

      • bowdenball - Aug 5, 2015 at 9:43 AM

        Booing Desi is poor form. He’s always been a great member of the team and the community and he takes tons of time to interact with fans, more than any baseball player I’ve ever seen. He’s a class act in every way. I was embarrassed for Nats fans last night.

        I don’t think he should be in the lineup, especially given the season that Espinosa is having. But if you insist on booing as a means of voicing your displeasure with Desmond, get there early enough to boo MW when he comes out to exchange lineup cards. It’s not like Desmond is unaware that he’s disappointing the fans. When you boo him you just make things worse for him and for the team- the exact opposite of what a good fan does.

      • Ghost of Steve M. - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:08 AM

        I think the overall frustration was more with the 8th inning play that RZim had a small lead and a small secondary and wasn’t going on contact. It turned out to be good news as he ended up scoring on Ramos single.

      • Mrsb loves the Nats - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:09 AM

        I didn’t hear boos where I was sitting. I did hear groans of frustration but I know I was wondering why they weren’t in a contact play type thing there. Thought as soon as Desi hit the slow roller, Ryan would have been almost home.

        But yes, it has been high time for Desi to sit.

      • natsnatsnatswoo - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:15 AM

        MW doesn’t always come out to deliver the lineup card. Last night you would have been booing the other MW, Mark Weidemaier. A better approach would be to get Terrance to come to your section and lead one of his doofus cheers. That would go like this:

        Terrance: When I say “Who do we want out of the lineup right now?” you say “Desmond.” Okay, who do we want out of the lineup right now?

        Crowd: DESMOND!

        Yeah, that’s gonna work. Booing Desmond when he deserves it is a much better option.

      • bowdenball - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:32 AM

        Desmond has never deserved to be booed IMO. The only guys who deserve boos from their hometown fans are those who display a lack of character or effort. Desmond has both in spades.

        But hey, if you’d rather act like spoiled, miserable Philadelphia sports fans than show some appreciation and affection for franchise bedrock guys who are faltering after years of outstanding play I suppose that’s a choice too.

    • Ghost of Steve M. - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:06 AM

      Read ehay2K on Desi’s throw home. Esco didn’t get out of the way totally in Desi’s line of vision as he was in on the infield grass and Desi yanked the throw. You can see it on the replay.

      Desi does need to sit because his hitting was pathetic and again pulling off pitches. He should have struck out 4 times and lucky for him the ump gave him a gift on a high strike that would have punch him out and instead he got to ground out.

      • Mrsb loves the Nats - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:08 AM

        He knew it was a K too. He got bailed out and still didn’t do anything with it.

      • Ghost of Steve M. - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:09 AM

        Nope, 2nd chances not taken advantage of.

  15. dcwx61 - Aug 5, 2015 at 8:58 AM

    enjoy the pets everyone…i was up in 312 last night… just a few drops of the wet stuff
    don’t need a weather man to know which way the storm blows

    • Bruxtun - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:33 AM

      +1 Bob Dylan

      • dcwx61 - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:39 AM

        yes!

  16. Eric - Aug 5, 2015 at 9:03 AM

    Off topic, but does anyone know how early you have to get to the game to get a Werth chia pet? My daughter has been begging me to take her to get one for weeks.

    • natsnatsnatswoo - Aug 5, 2015 at 9:34 AM

      Go in a back gate when they open at 5:30.

      • zmunchkin - Aug 5, 2015 at 9:43 AM

        This implies the other gates open at 4:30 (like the CF gate) at 4:30 for their is a giveaway.

        http://washington.nationals.mlb.com/was/ballpark/information/index.jsp?content=gate_opening_times

      • natsnatsnatswoo - Aug 5, 2015 at 9:56 AM

        LF, CF and RF gates open at 4:30, but you only have access to the CF concourse as for regular BP. The back gates like 1B and Home Plate open at 5:30 with full ballpark access, and they have a stock of giveaways at each of those gates. So if you go through a back gate when it opens you will definitely get one, and you don’t have to stand around on the CF concourse for an extra hour.

      • Ghost of Steve M. - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:11 AM

        Thanks for that clarification. 2 1/2 hours for outfield gates.

    • catcher50 - Aug 5, 2015 at 9:42 AM

      You can have mine. My wife threatened me if I came home with one. Not Werth. It’s the Chia Pet.

    • adcwonk - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:24 AM

      For prior giveaways, I’ve been there around 6 with no problems.

      But, as always, the past is not necessarily predictive of the future . . . 😉

  17. natsnatsnatswoo - Aug 5, 2015 at 9:12 AM

    Just went online to check out how much more my NatsPlus membership is going to cost next year (answer: not all that much, but I’m in the cheap seats) and I discovered a couple of interesting things. (1) NatsFest will be two days, Dec 12th and 13th, no location listed. (2) There will be a second exhibition game next year, no date or opponent listed. We can buy tickets for those events now, as well as renew our packages and buy our postseason strips if we actually think they’ll make the playoffs. Booyah!

    • zmunchkin - Aug 5, 2015 at 9:21 AM

      I too was pleasantly surprised at the increase. I did the three year lock in 2012 prices. So this is the first time the prices went up. The increase was 20% – not bad at all given thatbi had 2012 prices.

      Like you, perhaps because I’m in cheaper seats – infield gallery (300 level).

      BTW, in his chat a couple weeks ago Boswell commented that when Nats Park opened that he did a walk thru of the park with Larry Luchino (?) who commented how much he liked the upper deck layout.

  18. veejh - Aug 5, 2015 at 9:40 AM

    Ramos was declared worthless the other day. Huh.

    • Ghost of Steve M. - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:13 AM

      Of course because once Desi started to hit they needed another player to bash then Ramos got a RISP hit on Monday so they turned back on Desi.

  19. stoatva - Aug 5, 2015 at 9:43 AM

    Gotta run, but serious question on the way out: Because Paps and Storen were used in garbage time Monday and in deadly earnest last night, will either or both be unavailable tonight? I can imagine this being one of those games Papelbon might be held out of, and Storen allowed to close because P threw a lot more in each of those games.

    But I’m always wrong when it comes to guessing what MW will do.

    • Ghost of Steve M. - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:15 AM

      Great question and Paps pitched 20 last night so you have to lay off Paps. I think Storen had 2 quick innings so if he is up to it I give him the ball. Might also be Rivero time.

      • Sec 3, My Sofa - Aug 5, 2015 at 2:41 PM

        I’m hoping for a three-inning save for Clint Robinson.

  20. jd - Aug 5, 2015 at 9:53 AM

    To me last night’s game was more a relief than anything else. We had our ace pitching with a 3-0 lead, their starter was gone in the 2nd and their 1st guy out of the pen was a Livan Hernandez imitator, I thought we win this game in a breeze. The only question I had was will the Mets lose as well? A loss last night would have really felt like a blow to the gut, I would never quit on the team but it sure felt for a while there like things are falling apart quickly.

    On the plus side, a couple of nice professional at bats by Zim and Werth, Rendon and Esco look really locked in at the plate and Ramos is showing signs of life. Scherzer showed great perseverance in not letting the 4th inning snow ball out of control and also pitching excellent 5th and 6th innings, the back end of the pen is really making me feel much better about close games and MW pitched Jansen and Storen even though we didn’t have the lead – progress.

    Desi, Desi, Desi. Did he look lost at the plate in that 8th inning or what? I had zero confidence that he would bring the run home. It’s not just swinging wildly any more, it’s taking pitches that say :’hit me’ for called strikes. I got to tell you there is no way I make him a qualifying offer because if I’m his agent I sign in a heart beat. No one will give him $15 mil especially if they have to lose a pick in the process.

    • veejh - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:06 AM

      We’re getting close to the point where the team comes before Dez. He’s had his chance to turn things around. Time to play the guy who’s hitting better and fielding better. If they continue to play Dez, and we end up not making the playoffs, one could argue that the inability of MW to bench Dez was the issue. This could get ugly.

      • Ghost of Steve M. - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:24 AM

        Rizzo has the ultimate decision in a benching like that. “Rest days” are needed immediately but 1 day here or there and then you reassess.

      • veejh - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:28 AM

        Whoever. I feel that they’re putting Dez ahead of the overall good of the team. I realize it’s a sensitive situation, but really, there’s only 2 options. Keep playing a player who is just terrible in every facet of the game right now while you have a perfectly capable guy, who happens to be killing it this year, rot on the bench, or bench him and hurt his feelings and possibly destroy his baseball future. Yikes.

      • jfmii - Aug 5, 2015 at 11:16 AM

        veejh, Espinosa’s high-level skills at all aspects of the game are coming out because he is no longer a liability at the plate. But I would not say he is “killing it”

  21. Ghost of Steve M. - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:22 AM

    Desi could not sustain his “hot streak” and while I don’t blame anyone for sucking against Aces, Desi was the weak link last night and earned a “rest day” today.

    The Cubs have a similar problem with Starlin Castro and Joe Maddon sat him down and told him to relax and he will start to hit again. Last night 2 doubles and 2 RBIs in a win over Pittsburgh.

    Desi has to relax and stop swinging at pitch #1 for a while. He has to keep his head on the ball.

    • adcwonk - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:29 AM

      Desi has to relax and stop swinging at pitch #1 for a while. He has to keep his head on the ball.

      I actually don’t mind when Desi swings at the first pitch — if it’s center cut.

      But last night in the 8th was ridiculous.

      With guys on 2d and 3rd, FP was going on and on about how the pitcher wasn’t going to throw him a strike (an unintentional-intentional walk, so to speak). Everybody in the park with half a brain knows that. So he throws a slider way outside — and Ian swings wildly and misses.

      It was the only time I yelled at the tv all night 😉

      • Ghost of Steve M. - Aug 5, 2015 at 10:30 AM

        Sure, but the scouting report is don’t throw a “get me over” strike to Desi on pitch #1

      • rlndtln - Aug 5, 2015 at 4:10 PM

        Fister needs to go to the bench.

Archives

FINAL NL EAST STANDINGS

WLGB
NEW YORK9072
WASHINGTON83797.0
MIAMI719119.0
ATLANTA679523.0
PHILADELPHIA639927.0

ON THE RADIO

As ESPN-980 AM's Nats Insider, Mark makes daily appearances on the station's various shows. Here's the 2015 schedule (subject to change)...

MON: 12:45 p.m.
TUE: 2:30 p.m.
WED: 4:30 p.m.
THU: 2:30 p.m.
FRI: 5:30 p.m.
SAT: 10:30 a.m.

*All times Eastern. You can also listen to the station on 94.3 FM, 92.7 FM and online at ESPN980.com. Click here for past audio clips.

Follow us on Twitter