Skip to content

Zim to begin rehab games; updates on Rendon and Espinosa

Jul 19, 2015, 12:22 PM EST

USA Today

Ryan Zimmerman will begin a minor league rehab assignment on Sunday with the Double-A Harrisburg Senators as he continues to work his way back from plantar fasciitis in his left foot.

Zimmerman will appear with the Senators for the first time since he was a prospect in 2005. The Nationals first baseman has been on the disabled list since June 10.

CSN caught up with Zimmerman on Saturday and he explained how he will play through the injury for the rest of the season. He has a specially-made orthotic insole in his left cleat and said he is getting used to playing with it.

“I’ll play with [the orthotic] for the rest of the season. Those things nowadays are so advanced, it’s almost better than wearing a regular shoe because it’s made for your foot. If you’ve never had problems with your feet then you don’t really mess with them, but if you do it’s a pretty simple fix,” he said.

Zimmerman is batting .209 through 56 games this season.

Rendon checks in after first minor league rehab assignment game

Anthony Rendon was in the Nationals’ clubhouse the day after completing his first minor league rehab assignment game with the Single-A Potomac Nationals. Rendon played third base and went 2-for-2 against the Myrtle Beach Pelicans.

“It’s only been three innings in but at the most part it feels fine right now. I had one ball to my left and felt good. I didn’t die and I’m here the next day so step in the right direction,” he said.

Rendon said he feels like his rehab is going well and hopes to return soon from his latest injury, a strained left quadriceps muscle. He has appeared in only 18 games this season due to a host of ailments including a left MCL sprain and tightness in his oblique.

“If I knew what was causing it, I probably wouldn’t be getting injured especially this year. I feel like I haven’t changed my routine over the last couple years and I guess it’s just not my year health-wise,” he said.

Espinosa feels fine day after with calf muscle cramps

Danny Espinosa is back in the lineup one day after leaving the Nats’ loss to the Dodgers in the ninth inning with cramps in his calf muscles. Espinosa thinks the heat wave sweeping through Washington was a big factor, as he started feeling discomfort in the sixth inning.

“[The heat] caught me. I was cramping in the sixth inning. I had been cramping in the sixth inning. Even when I got the basehit I felt it when I was going down the line, it was tight. Then the following inning with the double off the wall, I went out for the double cut and kind of leaped for the ball and I felt it grab,” he said.

Espinosa says he will try and stay hydrated in Sunday’s game on an afternoon that could see the temperature eclipse 95 degrees.

“I’ll probably take a couple of more IVs before the game to make sure I’m really, really hydrated,” he said. “I’m not sore today or anything, I just needed more fluid. Fifteen innings in cleats didn’t help either, it isn’t easy on your calves and it isn’t easy on anything else. I feel fine today.”

Espinosa said not playing during the All-Star break could also have contributed to him cramping up.

“Could have. I don’t know, never thought about that. It could have. Getting back in cleats, yeah. It could have been strain on the calf.”

  1. laddieblahblah - Jul 19, 2015 at 12:47 PM

    Very encouraging news on Rendon. A bit troubling to learn that Zim’s foot is still bothering him. I guess we’ll know more when he begins his rehab stint at Harrisburg.

    When Rendon returns, who will be replaced in the infield, Escobar, Espinosa, or Desmond?

    • sjm308 - Jul 19, 2015 at 4:52 PM

      I don’t post much anymore but I have to think they sit Desmond. I understand having to play him now but not when you have Rendon back.

      • Section 222 - Jul 20, 2015 at 12:40 AM

        Your level-headed contributions are missed sjm. Hope you’re enjoying the games at the park.

  2. homeparkdc - Jul 19, 2015 at 12:56 PM

    Espinosa: “I’m not sore today or anything, I just needed more fluid. Fifteen innings in cleats didn’t help either, it isn’t easy on your calves and it isn’t easy on anything else. I feel fine today.”
    Sounds a lot like his comment after tumbling into the bullpen (somewhere) while playing 1B. Something like: “After it quit bleeding I was fine.” Gotta love this athlete.

    • Nats Fan Zee - Jul 19, 2015 at 1:07 PM

      I hope he does not overdo this …. Could lead to more serious health issues.

  3. BigHairyChestedGuy - Jul 19, 2015 at 1:03 PM

    “I didn’t die and I’m here the next day so step in the right direction.”

    The phrase “the soft bigotry of low expectations” comes to mind…

  4. Nats Fan Zee - Jul 19, 2015 at 1:10 PM

    BTW … On of Tony’s hits was a two bagger!

Archives

FINAL NL EAST STANDINGS

WLGB
NEW YORK9072
WASHINGTON83797.0
MIAMI719119.0
ATLANTA679523.0
PHILADELPHIA639927.0

ON THE RADIO

As ESPN-980 AM's Nats Insider, Mark makes daily appearances on the station's various shows. Here's the 2015 schedule (subject to change)...

MON: 12:45 p.m.
TUE: 2:30 p.m.
WED: 4:30 p.m.
THU: 2:30 p.m.
FRI: 5:30 p.m.
SAT: 10:30 a.m.

*All times Eastern. You can also listen to the station on 94.3 FM, 92.7 FM and online at ESPN980.com. Click here for past audio clips.

Follow us on Twitter