Skip to content

Harper won’t participate in Home Run Derby

Jul 6, 2015, 5:30 PM EDT

USA Today Sports Images file photo

Bryce Harper won’t participate in this year’s Home Run Derby, not wanting to compete in the annual All-Star Game event with his father injured and unavailable to pitch to him.

Harper, who finished runner-up in the 2013 derby at Citi Field with father Ron as his pitcher, said he couldn’t imagine participating again with anybody else on the mound. Ron Harper recently had surgery to repair a torn rotator cuff and hasn’t fully healed yet.

“Not having my dad throw with me, it’s a huge issue for me,” Harper said Monday afternoon before the Nationals’ series opener against the Reds. “I think being comfortable on a stage like that with somebody that I know can throw strikes for me, knows where my sweet spot’s at … you know, that’s huge for me. So hopefully in a couple years he’ll be OK and we’ll see where I go.”

Ron Harper became an integral part of the 2013 derby, sharing the spotlight with his then-20-year-old son and throwing enough pitches over the plate to lead to 24 total homers over three rounds, ending with a loss to Yoenis Cespedes in the finals.

“We always talked about it,” Ron Harper said that night in New York. “When he was a little guy. Not after he got drafted, but when he was tiny. He said: ‘If I ever get to do that, I want you to throw to me.’ Yeah, it was a dream come true.”

Harper was injured last season and wasn’t selected for the All-Star Game in Minneapolis, but he has developed this season into one of the sport’s most-feared power hitters, entering play Monday with 25 homers (second to Giancarlo Stanton in the NL) and a league-best .722 slugging percentage.

Selected by fans to start next week’s game in Cincinnati with an NL-record 13,864,950 votes, Harper was offered the opportunity to participate in the derby once again. He considered it but said he didn’t want to do it without his father involved.

Several prominent players have taken a pass on the derby in recent years, concerned the event can ruin their swing. Harper insisted that wasn’t a factor in this decision.

“I don’t think it really changes your swing at all,” he said. “I mean, I could go out and play a round of golf and come out and play nine innings today and I wouldn’t have a problem. So that’s definitely not an issue for me.”

Nationals manager Matt Williams said he supported Harper’s decision and insisted he played no role in the decision-making process.

“No, none,” Williams said. “I know his dad’s coming off surgery, shoulder surgery. And that’s his guy. The All-Star Game, for me, is a time to enjoy the process and to enjoy being there. It’s an honor to be asked. It’s an honor to be asked to be in the Home Run Derby. But it’s certainly Bryce’s decision whether to participate or not. There’s no conversations that happens between us that would be an attempt to deter him from being in it.”

  1. natsjackinfl - Jul 6, 2015 at 5:32 PM

    This was pretty well known a month or more ago. All I can say is “Good!”

  2. rlndtln - Jul 6, 2015 at 5:33 PM

    Best thing for Bryce and the Nats.

  3. 3on2out - Jul 6, 2015 at 5:40 PM

    The father-son connection is truly touching. Kind of “Field of Dreams” . Totally support his decision not to participate. Nothing to be gained and, regardless of Bryce’s assessment of its impact on his swing, perhaps something to lose.

  4. Sec 3, My Sofa - Jul 6, 2015 at 5:41 PM

    Mark’s tweets show up in a small font on my screen. Must be why I thought I saw “David Carpenter placed on paternity test leave” instead of “David Carpenter placed on paternity leave list.

  5. Eugene in Oregon - Jul 6, 2015 at 5:45 PM

    Good. Silly distraction from real baseball.

  6. nats1924 - Jul 6, 2015 at 6:19 PM

    this is good news.

    Now, hopefully the next post is about Scherzer not being able to pitch in the all star game

  7. rlndtln - Jul 6, 2015 at 6:42 PM

    That can happen if he is allowed to pitch sunday on normal rest.

  8. Hiram Hover - Jul 6, 2015 at 6:52 PM

    Cue the haters–not here, but the talk radio types. Imagine what last nights ESPN broadcast would have sounded like had he announced this yesterday.

    Me, I couldn’t care less.

  9. veejh - Jul 6, 2015 at 6:54 PM

    Solid excuse. He’ll still be judged harshly by most. Whatever, just keep raking at the plate.

  10. Ghost of Steve M. - Jul 6, 2015 at 7:03 PM

    Glad that’s official.

  11. Nats Fan Zee - Jul 6, 2015 at 7:05 PM

    I get the father and son thing but his brother Brian could serve ’em up too. I’m glad he is going to sit it out … He does not need an exhibition that might meets with hit stroke.

  12. Scooter - Jul 6, 2015 at 7:35 PM

    Man, you guys are no fun. I’m incredibly touched that it’s so important to Harper that his dad pitch to him, so I love that he won’t do the derby without his papa.

    But this stuff is supposed to be fun! If Harper messes up his swing, or Scherzer gets decapitated by Josh Donaldson’s broken bat, what the heck. It was all just for kicks anyway. It is very rude of us to have these amazing players and try to deprive everyone else of the joy of watching them in an exhibition on national TV.

  13. stoatva - Jul 6, 2015 at 7:56 PM

    I thought Bruce would have won a couple of years ago if Pops hadn’t kept throwing him splitters.

    • stoatva - Jul 6, 2015 at 7:57 PM

      Bryce, duh. Thanks, spell correct

Archives

FINAL NL EAST STANDINGS

WLGB
NEW YORK9072
WASHINGTON83797.0
MIAMI719119.0
ATLANTA679523.0
PHILADELPHIA639927.0

ON THE RADIO

As ESPN-980 AM's Nats Insider, Mark makes daily appearances on the station's various shows. Here's the 2015 schedule (subject to change)...

MON: 12:45 p.m.
TUE: 2:30 p.m.
WED: 4:30 p.m.
THU: 2:30 p.m.
FRI: 5:30 p.m.
SAT: 10:30 a.m.

*All times Eastern. You can also listen to the station on 94.3 FM, 92.7 FM and online at ESPN980.com. Click here for past audio clips.

Follow us on Twitter