Skip to content

Zimmerman still resting left foot; Span gets day off

Jun 17, 2015, 5:46 PM EDT

Photo by USA Today

Ryan Zimmerman is continuing to rest his left foot as he serves out a 15-day disabled list stint with plantar fasciitis. The Nationals first baseman is doing his best to remain patient with little else to do besides wait.

“Just kind of hang out and do nothing. It’s pretty brutal, actually,” he said. “I just gotta rest it and let it heal. Hopefully it will be sooner rather than later.”

Zimmerman landed on the DL on June 11 after playing through discomfort in his left foot for nearly two months. On Wednesday he described what he was dealing with before taking time off.

“The good days were like 80, 85 percent. The bad days were obviously worse than that. Like I said the whole time, I wouldn’t have played if I didn’t think I could be effective. This is no excuse for how I played or anything like that. It just got to the point where it wasn’t good for me or the team,” he said.

Zimmerman was vague when asked exactly how it was contributing to his offensive struggles. Zimmerman left for the DL with a .209 average and .265 on-base percentage in 56 games this season.

“I didn’t really think I felt it, but you never really know. It could have been affecting me or it could not have. Like I said, that’s no excuse for how I was hitting. If we didn’t think I was able to go out there and perform then I shouldn’t have been out there,” he said.

Span gets a day off to rest his back

Denard Span had appeared in seven consecutive games since returning after a brief absence as he dealt with back spasms, but on Wednesday he was out of the Nationals’ lineup against the Tampa Bay Rays.

Span was given a day off by the team after feeling some minor discomfort during the team’s recent road trip.

“With the travel and a late flight, and playing on the turf a couple of days didn’t help. They thought it was smart to give me a day, so hopefully I feel a little bit better tomorrow,” he said.

Span is hitting .303 with five homers, 20 RBI and six steals in 45 games this season.

Archives

FINAL NL EAST STANDINGS

WLGB
NEW YORK9072
WASHINGTON83797.0
MIAMI719119.0
ATLANTA679523.0
PHILADELPHIA639927.0

ON THE RADIO

As ESPN-980 AM's Nats Insider, Mark makes daily appearances on the station's various shows. Here's the 2015 schedule (subject to change)...

MON: 12:45 p.m.
TUE: 2:30 p.m.
WED: 4:30 p.m.
THU: 2:30 p.m.
FRI: 5:30 p.m.
SAT: 10:30 a.m.

*All times Eastern. You can also listen to the station on 94.3 FM, 92.7 FM and online at ESPN980.com. Click here for past audio clips.

Follow us on Twitter