Skip to content

Span leaves Nats’ loss with back spasms

Jun 7, 2015, 8:24 PM EST

May 29, 2015; Cincinnati, OH, USA; Washington Nationals center fielder Denard Span watches from the dugout at the beginning of a game with the Cincinnati Reds at Great American Ball Park. Mandatory Credit: David Kohl-USA TODAY Sports

Denard Span left Sunday afternoon’s loss to the Chicago Cubs with back spasms, adding yet another ailment to a long list of them for the Nationals center fielder this season.

Span missed three games earlier in the week with a sore right knee. He also missed time in early May with soreness in his abdomen. That was after beginning the season on the disabled list while he recovered from core muscle surgery. He also had sports hernia surgery in the offseason.

Span and the Nationals believe this particular injury is minor, but are exercising caution. Span has never dealt with back spasms before in his career.

“I felt fine after I popped up to shortstop and came back, put my helmet in the rack, put my bat down — calmly — and sat down on the bench. And as soon as we got three outs, hopped up to go get my glove and I went to go stand up and it just locked up on me. Never happened to me before, so it definitely scared the heck out of me,” he said.

The Nationals do not believe it is serious, but Span wants to wait and see until he feels in the coming days.

“I mean that’s the initial diagnosis. I don’t know, hopefully it feels better tomorrow when I wake up. That will be a little bit more peaceful for me. But it’s still too early. I don’t know how serious or really what’s going on,” he explained.

Span was 1-for-4 with a strikeout in the game before exited in the top of the eighth inning. Danny Espinosa took over in left field, while Michael Taylor moved to center. It was Espinosa’s first ever appearance in the outfield.

Span said he will take muscle relaxers to try and loosen up his back. He is traveling to New York with the Nats on Sunday night on a train.

“Good thing we have a day off tomorrow. I guess I’m just going to communicate with the trainers tomorrow during the day off and let them know how I’m feeling.”

  1. scnatsfan - Jun 7, 2015 at 8:58 PM

    Just nothing but good news lately

  2. Theophilus T.S. - Jun 7, 2015 at 9:20 PM

    Good thing there’s a day off — about half the lineup needs a week of it, however.

    Somebody is going on the DL, I bet. My guess is Zimmerman, w/ den Dekker coming up to be the bench OF.

    • senators5 - Jun 7, 2015 at 9:37 PM

      It would appear that all of these so-called minor injuries are advancing this group to the Drowning Rats Syndrome. They have shown little or no interest lately in the game they get paid ungodly sums of money with the possible exception of #31.

      • natsmachine - Jun 7, 2015 at 10:53 PM

        That to me is a manger issue…no urgency (or interest as you say). I’m not buying the management team of MW, McCatty and Schu right now. Any coincidence this team went into the crapper shortly after Werth went down with injury?

  3. senators5 - Jun 8, 2015 at 12:16 AM

    Napoleon lost at Waterloo because his troops lost faith in his ranting…MW may, in fact, be the Nats’ Waterloo as he seemingly has no idea to raise or even maintain team morale during the tough times. The good times, you and I could do that…

  4. scmargenau - Jun 8, 2015 at 1:01 AM

    MW simply is not the answer. He’s slow, we all see that. Dazed and confused.

  5. laddieblahblah - Jun 8, 2015 at 6:34 AM

    Anyone paying attention could have seen that Denard was struggling with a physical problem, recently. There was one commenter on this site who saw it quite clearly, as I recall.

    I don’t see how Matt can be held responsible for so many injuries to key players. You could get John McGraw to manage this team and he couldn’t fix Zim’s shoulder, Werth’s wrist, Span’s back, SS’s trapezius, Fister’s forearm, Rendon’s knee (and then his obliques), Stammen’s shoulder, etc., etc., etc.

  6. rabbit433 - Jun 8, 2015 at 6:41 AM

    I’m going to see the O’s/Yankees on Friday. I have another O’s hat. Anybody want to come along??!!!!

  7. Guapo - Jun 8, 2015 at 7:04 AM

    I really like Span. But Father Time is undefeated. He may not be 100% again as a National. That’s too bad, class guy and heck of a ballplayer.

Archives

FINAL NL EAST STANDINGS

WLGB
NEW YORK9072
WASHINGTON83797.0
MIAMI719119.0
ATLANTA679523.0
PHILADELPHIA639927.0

ON THE RADIO

As ESPN-980 AM's Nats Insider, Mark makes daily appearances on the station's various shows. Here's the 2015 schedule (subject to change)...

MON: 12:45 p.m.
TUE: 2:30 p.m.
WED: 4:30 p.m.
THU: 2:30 p.m.
FRI: 5:30 p.m.
SAT: 10:30 a.m.

*All times Eastern. You can also listen to the station on 94.3 FM, 92.7 FM and online at ESPN980.com. Click here for past audio clips.

Follow us on Twitter